Return to Headlines

Three take oath at School Board investiture ceremony

Board elects Fischer as Chair, Stivender as Vice Chair

Dozens of community leaders, supporters, friends and family joined Rosanne Brandeburg, Bill Mathias and Debbie Stivender forBoard elects Fischer as Chair, Stivender as Vice Chair their investiture ceremony at the special Lake County School Board meeting last week.

First to take the oath was newly elected School Board Member Bill Mathias. County Court Judge James R. Baxley administered the oath.

“I am very grateful to be here and I’m looking forward to working with you all,” Mathias said after taking his place on the Board dais.

Lake County Clerk of Courts Neil Kelly administered the oath for reelected School Board Members Rosanne Brandeburg and Debbie Stivender.

“Being a public servant takes a tremendous support system, and my family and my friends have always been there for me,” Stivender said. “That’s the only way you can do a job like this and do it right.”

Brandeburg added, “I am most grateful to have the honor to serve on the Lake County School Board for a second four-year term. My focus has been and continues to be to see students excel in their education, graduate and have options to go to college or into the workforce.”

After the investiture ceremony, the Lake County School Board handled several annual housekeeping items, including selecting the Board’s officers. The School Board unanimously elected School Board Member Kyleen Fischer as Chair and School Board Member Debbie Stivender as Vice Chair.

“I appreciate the opportunity to work with you during this coming year,” Fischer said. “I want everyone to know that every Board member up here brings unique qualities that are going to make an outstanding difference in Lake County.”

Another item of business the School Board approved was to continue holding its regularly scheduled meetings on the second and fourth Monday of each month at 6 p.m. in the County Commission Chambers of the Lake County Administration Building, located at 315 W. Main St. in Tavares.

Other recognitions from the special meeting included a special thank you to former School Board Chair Rosanne Brandeburg and outgoing School Board Member Jim Miller.

“You have a passion for education — you always have — you have been a friend of Lake County Schools for as long as I have known you,” said Dr. Susan Moxley, Superintendent of Lake County Schools, to Jim Miller. “You are very committed and dedicated to this community. We thank you so much for your service.”