Today's Choice for Tomorrow's Future

Department Directory

Main Office

Frances Celis
Executive Director
352.253-6770
CelisF@lake.k12.fl.us
 
Dolores Gonzalez-Block
Executive Secretary
352.253.6770
Gonzalez-BlockD@lake.k12.fl.us
 
Brenda Noguera
Bookkeeper
352.253.6771
NogueraB@lake.k12.fl.us
 
Michelle Pownall
Manager for School Counselors
352.253.6773
PownallM@Lake.k12.fl.us
 
Ralph Albanese
Network Administrator
352.253.6878
AlbaneseR@lake.k12.fl.us
 

Advanced Studies

Kathlene Daniels
Administrative Coordinator
352.253.6863 
DanielsK@lake.k12.fl.us
 
Robin Thayer
Program Specialist
352.253.6877
ThayerR@lake.k12.fl.us
 
Christopher Mcguire
Program Specialist
352.253.6775
McguireC@lake.k12.fl.us              
   

Career & Tech Ed.

Marta C. Ramirez
Administrative Coordinator
352.253.6769
RamirezM@lake.k12.fl.us

Brian Charnigo
Program Specialist
352.253.6772
CharnigoB@lake.k12.fl.us
 
Samantha Bentley Ponder
Program Specialist
352.253.6776
BentleyS1@Lake.k12.fl.us
 
David Cohen
Aviation Program Specialist
352.253.6770
CohenD@Lake.k12.fl.us
 
Leslie Noble
Program Specialist
352.253.6774
NobleL@Lake.k12.fl.us

 

Lynnea Weissman
Program Specialist
352.253.6879
WeissmanL@Lake.k12.fl.us

 

Purpose

The Department of College & Career Readiness comprises the offices of Advanced Studies and Career & Technical Education with a clear purpose of empowering all students in Lake County through enhanced acceleration opportunities which include advanced studies, improved digital literacy, and career and technical education that articulate to post-secondary education and the workplace. The Department also oversees District Guidance Counselors and counseling initiatives.

Students are considered college and career ready when they have the knowledge, skills, and academic preparation needed to enroll and succeed in introductory college credit-bearing courses within an associate or baccalaureate degree program without the need for remediation. These same attributes and levels of achievement are needed for entry into and success in post-secondary workforce education or directly into a job that offers gainful employment and career advancement.

Mission

The College and Career Readiness Department is committed to empowering all students through enhanced acceleration opportunities which include advanced studies, improved digital literacy, and career & technical education that articulates to post-secondary education and the workplace.

Our location

509 South Palm Avenue
Howey-in-the-Hills, FL 34737