Return to Headlines

Lake School Board awarded “Master Board” distinction

Baord Members The Lake County School Board is one of only 17 school boards in Florida to be named a “Master Board” by the Florida School Boards Association. The presentation was made at the Association’s 70th annual Joint Conference earlier this month in Tampa.

Additionally, the district was awarded the Gold Star for having all members of the leadership team – the superintendent and every school board member – in attendance for all 22 hours of training. Lake is one of only six districts in the state to receive the Gold Star.

The Master Board Program is a voluntary program that provides opportunities for the school superintendents and school board members to engage in training that enhances their capacity to provide visionary leadership for their district. It concentrates on the leadership team’s governance roles for enhancing student achievement, fostering connections and empowering collaboration between schools and the community, and creating a learning organization to advance excellence in public education.

Superintendent Susan Moxley along with board members Rosanne Brandeburg, Marc Dodd, Stephanie Luke, Bill Mathias and Debbie Stivender completed 22 hours of learning activities in a state-wide forum and onsite trainings to earn this distinction.

The other districts earning the Master Board distinction this year are Alachua, Calhoun, Charlotte, Escambia, Glades, Hardee, Hernando, Holmes, Lee, Levy, Polk, St. Lucie, Taylor, Union, Wakulla and Washington counties.