Return to Headlines

School Board welcomes two new members

A reception and investiture ceremony were held for newly elected members of the Lake County School Board,  Kristi Burns, Ph.D., and Sandy Gamble, on Tuesday, Nov. 22. Afterward, they participated in their first meeting as board members and elected Marc Dodd chairman. He replaces Bill Mathias, whose term as chairman has ended. Stephanie Luke was elected vice chairman for a second term.
Burns and Gamble replace Rosanne Brandeburg and Debbie Stivender who served as board members for eight years before deciding not to seek re-election.
Burns represents District 2, which includes Leesburg area schools such as Beverly Shores Elementary, Carver Middle and Leesburg High. Gamble represents District 4, which includes schools in and around Mount Dora and Tavares such as Triangle Elementary, Tavares Middle and Mount Dora High.
Congratulations to all!