Return to Headlines

Educational Foundation Announces Duck Race Winners

Educational Foundation Announces Duck Race Winners

The 6th annual No Duck Left Behind Rubber Ducky Race was a success.


TAVARES — The Educational Foundation of Lake County would like to congratulate the 2017 winners of the 6th annual Rubber Ducky Race. Kim Bryant, our Grand Prize winner, receives the $5000 scholarship. The other winners are as follows

2nd – Sorrento Elementary

3rd – Penny Robinson

4th – Ana Mendoza

5th – Kim Dailey

6th – Christina Fulton

7th – Mariah Frederic

The race began as ducks parachuted to the starting gate and competed to win their owner a $5,000 College Scholarship in America’s Seaplane City. The proceeds benefit the teachers and students in the Lake County Public Schools. In addition to the grand prize college scholarship, six other winners received prizes valued at more than $3,000 including$1,500 Scholarship for Sylvan Learning Center, IPad Mini, Apple Watch, Regions Bank Bike, 24” Flat Screen High Definition TV and $100 Publix Gift Card.

There were four race heats starting at 10:30 a.m., 11:30 a.m. 12:30 p.m. and 1:30 p.m. The top 100 ducks raced at 2:30 p.m. to determine the winners.

Lake County School students, teachers and administration also set up carnival style booths with food, games and souvenirs as well as moonwalks, obstacle courses and slides. Our incoming Superintendent, Mrs. Diane Kornegay was among those who attended to celebrate education.