Return to Headlines

South Lake and East Ridge students named district's Sunshine State Scholars

TAVARES – Congratulations to Brettland Coolidge of South Lake High School and Zachary Bell of East Ridge High School. They have been named the 2019Brettland and Zachary Sunshine State Scholars for Lake County Schools. As such, they will represent the district at an Orlando convening of 100 high school scholars in June, where the students will be recognized for their achievements and form a think tank, taking on some of Florida’s toughest challenges.


The students will also have opportunities to meet with representatives from Florida’s universities, learn about STEM-related programs of study and internships, and experience why Florida is a great place to pursue an exciting career. 


Every year, Florida’s school districts select their top 11th grade students in the areas of science, technology, engineering or mathematics for this honor.


Brettland is taking several AP courses and is on track to earn the AP Scholarship of Distinction. He has earned Certified Internet Web professional industry certification as well as the ServSafe food protection manager certification. He has more than 400 volunteer hours from his work with Clermont Police Explorers, ROTC and various campus organizations. He has achieved the rank of lieutenant in Clermont Police Explorers and ensign in the South Lake Navy JROTC unit.


Zachary is also taking several AP courses. He is on the golf team and has earned the MVP title for the last three years. He has earned a SolidWorks technology industry certification and is looking forward to volunteering at Kids College over the summer.